I Can See You‘Think you’re alone? Forget it. You’re never alone while I’m online and tapped into your computer or phone. And I don’t always use the camera to look at you. It has a microphone too. I am The Listener and I know all about you through what you say.’

‘You can hear everything through microphones, arguments, phone calls and when folks go to work. If you listen and study long enough you can figure out how many steps it takes to cross the floor from the front door and where the spare key is hidden. It takes time but that’s just part of the game, right?’

Mitchell Felding has worked out how to wake sleeping laptops and switch their microphones on. He says he prefers to listen than watch. When he’s asked why he’d do such a thing he’s deflective.

‘Oh I’m not saying I do it, I’m just saying I know how to. It doesn’t take much to switch one on remotely, not once you figure it out. I turn Sam’s mike on so I know if she’s at her desk. As long she leaves her computer running, I can click and listen in. It’s only for a moment, that’s all. No harm done.’

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

‘Why not turn the camera on instead?’

The Listener Seethings‘No! Camera’s often have indicator lights. People know, I mean, my wife would know if I’d switched it on.’

‘So you use the microphone to keep her from knowing?’

‘Ummm, no, I ummm… wish to respect her privacy. She might be dressing or… umm… anyway, listening isn’t a bad thing, not for a husband, right?’

His voice drops and changes dramatically, ‘So many unhappy people out there Tony. So much sadness. Every so often I’ll find someone who’s so lonely she’ll cry herself to sleep. She’ll call a friend and reveal secrets no one knows. That’s when I’ll flick the camera on, just for a moment, only for a second, to see how she looks and then switch it off again. If she’s fine, I’ll drop her a friendly line. Social media helps colour the picture of course and gives me a way in. The desperate and saddest can’t control themselves on social media. It’s as if they want to be found. They turn tears into troubled selfies, anxieties into poetry and drunken rants. It’s all there to see. I don’t need to guess anything by the time I make my move. I’m always the perfect gentleman… and they think I’m so sweet and understanding that they get swept up in it. They’re mine to do as I like. That’s when the real fun starts.’

-Kurdaitcha

The Novel ¦The Author ¦ Order 

SEETHINGS novel by Michael Forman (This is real)

Michael has put together a strong, heart beating novel, one which the readers of ‘psychotic thrillers’ will enjoy  – for the faint hearted, leave it alone! – Mike M. Roleystone

I Can See You! was originally published on MICHAEL FORMAN AUTHOR

Leave a Reply

